Spring Awakening

It’s that time of year again where grumpy, frost bitten (dramatic) New Yorkers melt their layer of ice that’s been covering them since November, and instantly dawn their denim jackets and open toed heels. It is the first real spring weekend in the city. There is a palpable energy radiating throughout the city. If you don’t have a smile on your face – yes, even as a New Yorker – you have no soul.

My winter was eventful. I started a new job and I’m slowly turning into a middle aged woman – well, I should say more of one than I was before. Let’s put it this way, I am getting more used to working a PC than a Mac. I never thought this day would come.

I turned 22 – my Taylor Swift year. Let me tell you this has BY FAR been the best year of my life. Granted I am in a much better, head, financial, environmental state than ever before, which certainly helps, but I’m feelin’ the love, let it linger. I went to the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra for my birthday with a Frenchman – do I get any more cliché? But it was a marvelous time and I milked every moment of pretending I was Blair Waldorf. 

On to my second favorite fictional TV character, I pretended to be Carrie Bradshaw this morning. SJP opened a shoe store in my neighborhood which I decided to check out with my friend Michaela. All of these shoes were WAY out of my price range let me preface with that, so it was very idiotic of me to waltz in in the first place. Then again, when do I ever make smart decisions?! I walked out many dollars lighter and a pair of royal blue stilettos heavier. See below and please fan girl with me. The reasoning I used to convince myself it was a good idea to buy these? They’ll be my something blue at my wedding! HA, sorry, I can’t even say that with a straight face I’m so single, but it pleased the devil and angel on my shoulders so I’m good.

4C7F2100-1E4B-432B-BCB8-8C3594676DCF

 

I’ve gotten into podcasts lately. My favorite is Girls Gotta Eat. They’re two 30 year old New Yorkers living the glamorous-from-the-outside dream. I was going through a bit of  rough patch this winter, I won’t lie. I thought not having a boyfriend I was some sort of failure. I was completely ignoring the fact that I have extremely incredible friends, a bomb ass job, a beautiful apartment, and am living in the greatest city on earth. Cuffing szn really gets to you. However, this podcast really helped me learn that a. it’s okay to be single – let me say that for the people in the back, IT’S OKAY TO BE SINGLE – and b. if you do like a dude, don’t be a psychopath about it. I was used to college dating, which let me tell you is NOT like real life dating. After one date with a person you aren’t supposed be ready to fall in love and assume monogamy status – very far from it actually. It’s also nothing to be taken personally – a guy can like you but still let time take it’s course. I had, and still have, a lot of maturing to do on that front, but I needed to hear some tough love from some strangers. I say from some strangers because my lovely friends have been telling me this for month but clearly ignoring – sorry guys.

Anyway, spring and SUMMER approaching has put me in the best of spirits and I’m ready for whatever the coming months have in store. I’ll probably be sporadic in my writing as always but felt inspired for an update today. May your afternoons be lovely, and your nights be filled with champagne.

IMG_2147


Leave a comment