Your Dinner is Served

Most underrated form of transportation has got to be buses – HA totally kidding. I’m not sure which is worse right now, the sway of the bus in and out of NJ traffic or the 4 year old sitting behind me kicking my seat repeatedly. Okay done being a Grinch.

 

This week tested my witts in every way possible, but I’m a little bit giddy right now as I travel home for the first time in 5 months. Is it possible that I’m homesick?? I think knowing that I was going to be home soon made the Owego girl come out in me a little this week. I started randomly talking to people in random situations – and for all of you who are New Yorkers you know how unwelcomed that is. I was sitting on the subway and started talking to someone about the air mattress I was lugging around. Note to self – no one gives a shit on the 2 train at 8am about my air mattress. Then while standing in line for the bus I started talking to the girl next to me about how I recently moved to the city and how the Financial District isn’t as expensive to live in as people would think. Someone STOP me. Then to top things off I just talked to the poor girl sitting next to me on the bus about my recent decision to purchase wireless headphones and how I hate having to charge them all the time. It would be one thing if this were a 10 second convo – but no – I managed to somehow talk about this for 5 whole minutes. She proceeded to let me borrow her headphone, probably to get me to shut up. Girl with the pretty sweater next to me, whoever you are, I’m so sorry. I need to be on Main St. in Owego where everyone and their brother stops you to talk about the weather to get all this small talk out of my system. Am I going crazy from essentially living alone??

 

Now I’ve probably bored you all to death.  There goes my nonexistent readership. I went to a cooking class this week for a vendor event – to be honest I can’t remember which vendor but I was sold at free wine and cheese. Now here’s how this event went down: I arrived to a group of about 20 people that my co-worker, Korey, who invited me all knew. Thank God our other co-worker, Andrea, came with us so I still had someone to talk to in my sober state. We get upstairs and b-line it for the bar. Smart me skipped lunch that day so one glass had me feelin’ myself but luckily mini hamburgers, and chicken parm, and buffalo cauliflower started circulating. I immediately made friends with the cater waiter – he thought I was batting my eyelashes at him, hate to break it to you sport, I was all eyes for the hors d’oeuvre. After I ate about 50 mini meals to equal one meal I was set and buzzed. Then some genius who planned the event thought it was a great idea to give me a 6 inch knife for part 2 of the night: a cooking class. A frat boy’s worst nightmare then unfolded as me – a basic white girl – was drunk, chopping onions; it was like a double whammy cry fest. Fortunately, for myself and everyone present, my “cooking” ended with chopping onions as I proceeded to do what I’m best as – wine-ing. We then had the dinner that we cooked but I was so full from all the mini cheeses that I had that I barely touched my food. I did get to sit with my team though during dinner which was fun. It’s kind of crazy to me this whole work-social life dynamic. In school, people pretty much acted the same in class as they did outside of it. I mean we had kids during Friday classes that showed up with Gatorade bottles filled with CP. But being an “adult” now people act TOTALLY different during the day so it throws me off when they’re throwing back shots outside of the four walls of work. At least we get a little sneak peek into these alter egos with the minimum of one happy hour a week that we go to.  Anyway, had a great time with my co-workers all shitting on each other like we do outside of work. I’m gonna miss this team like crazy – no one warms you that you actually become friends with your co-workers. Or am I being naïve in thinking they’re my friends and that we just become close due to spending 10 hours a day together. Please advise!! Don’t even get me started on getting emotionally attached to people – yikes!


Leave a comment