Au Revoir America

Bonjour mes amis, je m’appelle Samantha, ou Sam.  That’s about all the French I remember from high school, just kidding… hopefully. You might wonder why I care about a language I studied from Kindergarten to 11th grade. I have the absolute pleasure of studying in Oxford, England this summer, where I will also be traveling all around Europe, France included. Crazy right?! Small town, rural New York girl leaving the confines of the U S of A to study and explore and EAT! I still don’t totally believe it’s real (even though my bank account is surely feeling it!). Okay I’m starting to sound a little cliché, but in 9 days I embark on the biggest adventure of my life so far. Am I nervous? I honestly can’t say I am. I’ve always been an adventure nut. Any trip, big or small, I was sold because it was something to do! It’s safe to say I am horrible at sitting still and doing nothing. Now I might be hyping myself up a bit, I’ve only been out of the country once, and that was for a day trip to Mexico a couple months ago, but we all have to start somewhere! I’m about to go from crawling to sprinting in a sense and I don’t think there’s any better way to explore the world than to be thrown across the pond for 6 weeks without parents, thank God (sorry Mom and Dad, still love you).  The bags are (beginning to be) packed, plane tickets booked, next stop: London, England.

Leave a Reply

